If I were a Woman

 

 

Image

For a couple of days now, i’ve been curiously wondering how it would be like if i had been made in a different sex or perhaps had the opportunity of a sex change, how different i may or may not have turned out and this is perhaps a product of my ponderings.

 

If I were a woman

My heart wants to know

How would I have been?

 

Would I have been a beautiful damsel,

With men drooling at the sights of me,

Or would I have been unattractive,

With no one but myself admiring?

 

Would I have been smart,

With the whole world wondering

Where the beauty and brains emanated

Or would I have been so dull,

That all would ridicule my beauty without brains?

 

Would I cringe at the thought of my monthlies,

Wondering how I would concentrate,

In the face of rushing blood,

Or I would look forward to another time,

To feel my womanhood again.

 

How would my first love be like,

Would he cause butterflies in my tummy,

Leaving me to nurse a crush without him acting

Or confront me with his thoughts,

Giving me room to pretend as though,

He never really mattered

 

Would I look forward to my wedding night,

Or avoid every thought of it,

Having lived in recklessness,

In my days of youthful exhuberance

 

Would I make a good wife,

Caring for my loved one, with all my heart,

Regardless of his financial or social standing,

Or a wife whose care depended solely

On the state of things per time?

 

Would my belly burst with twins

Or all it would contain would be one per time.

Would I endure the period of barrenness that I may have,

Living like Sarah and Hannah,

Yet still giving glory to God,

Or would I wonder why on earth

I was made to go through all this

 

Would I make a good mother,

With my children cherishing every of our moments

Or a terrible and careless mother,

Bringing down the very fabric of my home,

With my own hands?

 

Would I Love God,

With all of my heart,

Doing everything possible,

To be at peace with him,

Or would I love the World,

Much more than I did love God,

With my idols being my B.Bs, Men and money

 

Beyond it all,

Would I die Empty,

Having poured all I had into humanity,

Having a place in heaven,

Making the roads with other great women,

Who gave their all for their God, Families and Generations

Singing Halleluyahs in ceaseless wonders

 

Or would I make the longer journey,

Through the tortuous pits of hell,

Descending into its pains

And regretting the wasted years behind.

 

All this, my curious heart wants to know

 

One thought on “If I were a Woman

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

